Home > Learn Vedic Astrology > The Nakshatras or Star constellations

The Nakshatras or Star constellations

First the zodiac was divided into 12 main rasis, to study the effects of the planets placed there. Then the ancient seers added another sub divisional system of breaking down the zodiac into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations. Each nakshatra has a span of 13 degrees and 20 minutes.   After that each nakshatra was further subdivided into 4 Padas, or quarters, of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Hence the first zodiac sign Aries, which has 30 degrees, contains the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 1st star constellation Ashwini, the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 2nd star constellation Bharani and the 1st pada (3:20′) of the third star constellation Krittika. So each rasi contains total 9 padas. These nakshatras belong to three main groups: Deva or divine, Manusha or human and Rakshasa or Demonic. They have different ruling deities, owned by different planets and have divergent qualities. Hence while studying the effects of a planet placed in Aries, it is also studied in which nakshatra it is placed and in which pada of that nakshatra it is placed.

This system of analysis exists only in Indian astrology.The nakshatra in which your moon is placed at the time of your birth is called your Janma Nakshatra. This janma nakshatra has also got its influence on you.  The following table shows the names of the 27 nakshatras in their zodiacal order. Click on each to know more about their qualities, ruling planets and deities etc.

If you don’t know your Nakshatra click here to use onsite instant calculator
1 –  Ashwini
2 – Bharani
3 – Krittika
4 – Rohini
5 – Mrigasira
6 – Arudra
7 – Punarvasu
8 – Pushyami
9 – Aslesha
10 – Magha
11 – P.Phalguni
12 – U.Phalguni
13 – Hasta
14 – Chitra
15 – Swati
16 – Visakha
17 – Anuradha
18 – Jyestha
19 – Moola
20 – P.Ashadha
21 – U.Ashadha
22 – Shravana
23 – Dhanishta
24 – Satabhistha
25 – P.Bhadra
26 – U.Bhadra
27 – Revati

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: